A blog about Ireland

Adam and Val’s Irish exploration – what on earth is this all about?
(Go straight to the bottom of this page to read the day by day blogs)

A good question.

And there isn’t an easy answer.   Val and I like travelling and exploring and since retiring from most of our paid and voluntary work in 2020, we had hoped to use our time to see the world while we were still fit and able.   Unfortunately retirement coincided with the onset of the Covid-19 pandemic which meant that our plans were immediately thwarted.

So having endured, along with most of the rest of the world, on-off lockdowns for a year, we decided not to mope but to use the coming time when global travelling may be curtailed or at least difficult, to explore somewhere closer to home but still largely unknown.   At around the same time, we had been doing some research on our ancestry – as you do when you reach a certain age – and discovered on Val’s mother’s side an extremely interesting Irish branch which could trace its history back to the Kilkenny area until at least the early 1700’s.

So the answer suddenly became obvious.   We would leave the UK for a while, and go and explore Ireland.   Neither of us had ever lived abroad so we decided to make a proper go of it and not just to explore Ireland, but actually to live there for a while.   So we spent the summer of 2021 packing up everything in the UK  and getting the paperwork together so finally left for the Emerald Isle at the end of September 2021.

We don’t know exactly how long we will be away, but it’s likely to be a decent while.  Though, being close to the UK, we will of course be making trips back from time to time.

So, this section of the website contains a day by day record of Adam and Val’s Irish Odyssey.  Click the links below to find the page you want to read.

Ireland day 0279. Mon 04 Jul 2022- Interlude
Ireland day 0278. Sun 03 Jul 2022- Portrane
Ireland day 0277. Sat 02 Jul 2022- Flavours
Ireland day 0276. Fri 01 Jul 2022- Drizzle
Ireland day 0275. Thu 30 Jun 2022- Tonelagee
Ireland day 0274. Wed 29 Jun 2022- Brompton
Ireland day 0273. Tue 28 Jun 2022- Enda
Ireland day 0272. Mon 27 Jun 2022- Demesne
Ireland day 0271. Sun 26 Jun 2022- Dollymount
Ireland day 0270. Sat 25 Jun 2022- Croaghanmoira
Ireland day 0269. Fri 24 Jun 2022- PSLC
Ireland day 0268. Thu 23 Jun 2022- Parks
Ireland day 0267. Wed 22 June 2022- Fortyfoot
Ireland day 0266. Tue 21 Jun 2022- Midsummer
Ireland day 0265. Mon 20 Jun 2022- Zoo
Ireland day 0264. Sun 19 Jun 2022- ScotchVillage
Ireland day 0263. Sat 18 Jun 2022
Ireland day 0262. Fri 17 Jun 2022- WrensNest
Ireland day 0261. Thu 16 Jun 2022- Economydrive
Ireland day 0260. Wed 15 Jun 2022- Sugarloaf2
Ireland day 0259. Tue 14 Jun 2022- Killers
Ireland day 0258. Mon 13 Jun 2022- Dublinia
Ireland day 0257. Sun 12 Jun 2022- Waterstown
Ireland day 0256. Sat 11 Jun 2022- Lug2
Ireland day 0255. Fri 10 June 2022- GardenHouse
Ireland day 0254. Thu 09 Jun 2022- PaddysHill
Ireland day 0253. Wed 08 Jun 2022- UKHip02
Ireland day 0252. Tue 07 Jun 2022- UKHip01
Ireland day 0251. Mon 06 Jun 2022- Farmleigh2
Ireland day 0250. Sun 05 Jun 2022- Baldoyle
Ireland day 0249. Sat 04 Jun 2022- DryFeet!
Ireland day 0248. Fri 03 Jun 2022- Sandymount
Ireland day 0247. Thu 02 Jun 2022- Kilmainham
Ireland day 0246. Wed 01 Jun 2022- Ardgillan2
Ireland day 0245. Tue 31 May 2022- Estates
Ireland day 0244. Mon 30 May 2022- Cooking
Ireland day 0243. Sat 29 May 2022- Ardgillan
Ireland day 0242. Sat 28 May 2022- Kevin
Ireland day 0241. Fri 27 May 2022- Donard
Ireland day 0240. Thu 26 May 2022- Lecture
Ireland day 0239. Wed 25 May 2022- Coastal
Ireland day 0238. Tue 24 May 2022- Routine
Ireland day 0237. Mon 23 May 2022- Glenmalure
Ireland day 0236. Sun 22 May 2022- Laragh
Ireland day 0235. Sat 21 May 2022- Roundwood
Ireland day 0234. Fri 20 May 2022- Enniskerry
Ireland day 0233. Thu 19 May 2022- Wetfeet3
Ireland day 0232. Wed 18 May 2022- Iveagh
Ireland day 0231. Tue 17 May 2022- Writing
Ireland day 0230. Mon 16 May 2022- Burren2
Ireland day 0229. Sun 15 May 2022- Burren1
Ireland day 0228. Sat 14 May 2022- Carnavaddy4
Ireland day 0227. Fri 13 May 2022- Geology
Ireland day 0226. Thu 12 May 2022- Leprechauns
Ireland day 0224. Tue 10 May 2022- MoLI
Ireland day 0223. Mon 09 May 2022- Winter?
Ireland day 0222. Sun 08 May 2022- O’Connell
Ireland day 0221. Sat 07 May 2022- Inchicore
Ireland day 0220. Fri 06 May 2022- Farmleigh
Ireland day 0219. Thu 05 May 2022- Dandelions
Ireland day 0218. Wed 04 May 2022- Galway
Ireland day 0217. Tue 03 May 2022- Circuit
Ireland day 0216. Mon 02 May 2022- UKvisitors03
Ireland day 0215. Sun 01 May 2022- UKvisitors02
Ireland day 0214. Sat 30 Apr 2022- UKvisitors01
Ireland day 0213. Fri 29 Apr 2022- Preparations
Ireland day 0212. Thu 28 Apr 2022- Carwash!
Ireland day 0211. Wed 27 Apr 2022- Sunshine
Ireland day 0210. Tue 26 Apr 2022- Corlea
Ireland day 0209. Mon 25 Apr 2022- Progressing
Ireland day 0208. Sun 24 Apr 2022- Carriglinneen
Ireland day 0207. Sat 23 Apr 2022- Windy
Ireland day 0206. Fri 22 Apr 2022- PapalCross
Ireland day 0205. Thu 21 Apr 2022- Wicklow
Ireland day 0204. Wed 20 Apr 2022- Rubicon
Ireland day 0203. Tue 19 Apr 2022- Idiosyncrasies
Ireland day 0202. Mon 18 Apr 2022- Shorts!
Ireland day 0201. Sun 17 Apr 2022- Easter
Ireland day 0200. Sat 16 Apr 2022- UKFamily03
Ireland day 0199. Fri 15 April 2022- UKFamily02
Ireland day 0198. Thu 14 Apr 2022- UKFamily01
Ireland day 0197. Wed 13 Apr 2022- PhoenixEast
Ireland day 0196. Tue 12 Apr 2022- Zoom!
Ireland day 0195. Mon 11 Apr 2022- Testing
Ireland day 0194. Sun 10 Apr 2022- Deerpark
Ireland day 0193. Sat 09 Apr 2022- Weekend!
Ireland day 0192. Fri 08 Apr 2022- Eyetest2
Ireland day 0191. Thu 07 Apr 2022- Swimming!
Ireland day 0190. Wed 06 Apr 2022- Showers
Ireland day 0189. Tue 05 Apr 2022- Low-key
Ireland day 0188. Mon 04 Apr 2022- Kilkenny
Ireland day 0187. Sun 03 Apr 2022- Liberator
Ireland day 0186. Sat 02 Apr 2022- Lugnaquilla
Ireland day 0185. Fri 01 Apr 2022- Catchup
Ireland day 0184. Thu 31 Mar 2022- Paddling
Ireland day 0183. Wed 30 Mar 2022- Museum
Ireland day 0182. Tue 29 Mar 2022- Maynooth
Ireland day 0181. Mon 28 Mar 2022- Wicklow+1
Ireland day 0180. Sun 27 Mar 2022- Covid9
Ireland day 0179. Sat 26 Mar 2022- Covid8
Ireland day 0178. Fri 25 Mar 2022- Covid7
Ireland day 0177. Thu 24 Mar 2022- Covid6
Ireland day 0176. Wed 23 Mar 2022- Covid5
Ireland day 0175. Tue 22 Mar 2022- Covid4
Ireland day 0174. Mon 21 Mar 2022- Covid3
Ireland day 0173. Sun 20 Mar 2022- Covid2
Ireland day 0172. Sat 19 Mar 2022- Covid1
Ireland day 0171. Fri 18 Mar 2022- Wicklow-1
Ireland day 0170. Thu 17 Mar 2022- Patrick
Ireland day 0169. Wed 16 Mar 2022- SlieveFoye
Ireland day 0168. Tue 15 Mar 2022- Odour
Ireland day 0167. Mon 14 Mar 2022- Miscellany
Ireland day 0166. Sun 13 Mar 2022- Glencree
Ireland day 0165. Sat 12 Mar 2022- Stormy
Ireland day 0164. Fri 11 Mar 2022- Glasnevin
Ireland day 0163. Thu 10 Mar 2022- Dunany
Ireland day 0162. Wed 09 Mar 2022- Carnavaddy
Ireland day 0161. Tue 08 Mar 2022- Novelties
Ireland day 0160. Mon 07 March 2022- Rush2
Ireland day 0159. Sun 06 Mar 2022- SunSeaSand
Ireland day 0158. Sat 05 Mar 2022- Mullacor
Ireland day 0157. Fri 04 Mar 2022- Howth2
Ireland day 0156. Thu 03 Mar 2022- YARISSSS!!
Ireland day 0155. Wed 02 Mar 2022- Rainy
Ireland day 0154. Tue 01 Mar 2022- Poolbeg2
Ireland day 0153. Mon 28 Feb 2022- Indulgence?
Ireland day 0152. Sun 27 Feb 2022- Cooleys3
Ireland day 0151. Sat 26 Feb 2022- Rental
Ireland day 0150. Fri 25 Feb 2022- Progress
Ireland day 0149. Thu 24 Feb 2022- Visitors03
Ireland day 0148. Wed 23 Feb 2022- Visitors02
Ireland day 0147. Tue 22 Feb 2022- Visitors01
Ireland day 0146. Mon 21 Feb 2022- Repairs
Ireland day 0145. Sun 20 Feb 2022- Tolka
Ireland day 0144. Sat 19 Feb 2022- Downtime
Ireland day 0143. Fri 18 Feb 2022- Eunice
Ireland day 0142. Thu 17 Feb 2022- Moon
Ireland day 0141. Wed 16 Feb 2022- Phoenix
Ireland day 0140. Tue 15 Feb 2022- Repairs
Ireland day 0139. Mon 14 Feb 2022- Valentine
Ireland day 0138. Sun 13 Feb 2022- Leading
Ireland day 0137. Sat 12 Feb 2022- RRR
Ireland day 0136. Fri 11 Feb 2022- Verification
Ireland day 0135. Thu 10 Feb 2022- Preparation
Ireland day 0134. Wed 09 Feb 2022- Aldi!
Ireland day 0133. Tue 08 Feb 2022- Integration
Ireland day 0132. Mon 07 Feb 2022- Domestic
Ireland day 0131. Sun 06 Feb 2022- Clontarf
Ireland day 0130. Sat 05 Feb 2022- Open
Ireland day 0129. Fri 04 Feb 2022- Intentions
Ireland day 0128. Thu 03 Feb 2022- Coast
Ireland day 0127. Wed 02 Feb 2022- Brigid
Ireland day 0126. Tue 01 Feb 2022- Quiet
Ireland day 0125. Mon 31 Jan 2022- Konkan
Ireland day 0124. Sun 30 Jan 2022- Bnabreena
Ireland day 0123. Sat 29 Jan 2022- Dust
Ireland day 0122. Fri 28 Jan 2022- Botanic
Ireland day 0121. Thu 27 Jan 2022- Marmalade!
Ireland day 0120. Wed 26 Jan 2022- Delays
Ireland day 0119. Tue 25 Jan 2022- Más-español
Ireland day 0118. Mon 24 Jan 2022- Aerobic
Ireland day 0117. Sun 23 Jan 2022- NewbrDWC
Ireland day 0116. Sat 22 Jan 2022- Sugarloaves
Ireland day 0115. Fri 21 Jan 2022- Oranges
Ireland day 0114. Thu 20 Jan 2022- E8
Ireland day 0113. Wed 19 Jan 2022- Recce
Ireland day 0112. Tue 18 Jan 2022- Harbour
Ireland day 0111. Mon 17 Jan 2022- Cow
Ireland day 0110. Sun 16 Jan2022- AGM
Ireland day 0109. Sat 15 Jan 2022- Geology
Ireland day 0108. Fri 14 Jan 2022- Archaeology
Ireland day 0107. Thu 13 Jan 2022- Swannery
Ireland day 0106. Wed 12 Jan 2022- Science
Ireland day 0105. Tue 11 Jan 2022- Frustration
Ireland day 0104. Mon 10 Jan 2022- Vermeer
Ireland day 0103. Sun 09 Jan 2022- Dodder
Ireland day 0102. Sat 08 Jan 2022- Coastal
Ireland day 0101. Fri 07 Jan2022- Cephalopod
Ireland day 0100. Thu 06 Jan 2022- ChesterBeatty
Ireland day 0099. Wed 05 Jan 2022- Heliotropes
Ireland day 0098. Tue 04 Jan 2022- DunLaoghaire
Ireland day 0097. Mon 03 Jan 2022- EPIC
Ireland day 0096. Sun 02 Jan 2022- Metals
Ireland day 0095. Sat 01 Jan 2022- Greystones
Ireland day 0094. Fri 31 Dec 2021- Burrow
Ireland day 0093. Thu 30 Dec 2021- Planning
Ireland day 0092. Wed 29 Dec 2021- Return
Ireland day 0091. Tue 28 Dec 2021- UKXmas2107
Ireland day 0090. Mon 27 Dec 2021- UKXmas2106
Ireland day 0089. Sun 26 Dec 2021- UKXmas2105
Ireland day 0088. Sat 25 Dec 2021- UKXmas2104
Ireland day 0087. Fri 24 Dec 2021- UKXmas2103
Ireland day 0086. Thu 23 Dec 2021- UKXmas2102
Ireland day 0085. Wed 22 Dec 2021- UKXmas2101
Ireland day 0084. Tue 21 Dec 2021- Midwinter21
Ireland day 0083. Mon 20 Dec 2021- Rush&Lusk
Ireland day 0082. Sun 19 Dec 2021- Vartry
Ireland day 0081. Sat 18 Dec 2021- StAnnes
Ireland day 0080. Fri 17 Dec 2021- Rogerstown
Ireland day 0079. Thu 16 Dec 2021- Pumpkin
Ireland day 0078. Wed 15 Dec 2021- Routines
Ireland day 0077. Tue 14 Dec 2021- Market
Ireland day 0076. Mon 13 Dec 2021- Unorthodox
Ireland day 0075. Sun 12 Dec 2021- GrangeC
Ireland day 0074. Sat 11 Dec 2021- Trooperstown
Ireland day 0073. Fri 10 Dec 2021- Hirecar
Ireland day 0072. Thu 09 Dec 2021- Robswall
Ireland day 0071. Wed 08 Dec 2021- GPO
Ireland day 0070. Tue 07 Dec 2021- Barra
Ireland day 0069. Mon 06 Dec 2021- Treaty
Ireland day 0068. Sun 05 Dec 2021- Poolbeg
Ireland day 0067. Sat 04 Dec 2021- Castles
Ireland day 0066. Fri 03 Dec 2021- Quiet
Ireland day 0065. Thu 02 Dec2021- Lowtide
Ireland day 0064. Wed 01 Dec 2021- Henrietta
Ireland day 0063. Tue 30 Nov 2021- Newbridge
Ireland day 0062. Mon 29 Nov 2021- Titanic
Ireland day 0061. Sun 28 Nov 2021- Tymon
Ireland day 0060. Sat 27 Nov 2021- Estuary
Ireland day 0059. Fri 26 Nov 2021- Wintry
Ireland day 0058. Thu 25 Nov 2021- Chilly!
Ireland day 0057. Wed 24 Nov 2021- Templebar
Ireland day 0056. Tue 23 Nov 2021- EFPTOZLPED
Ireland day 0055. Mon 22 Nov 2021- Riverbank
Ireland day 0054. Sun 21 Nov 2021- Blessington
Ireland day 0053. Sat 20 Nov 2021- Megawatts
Ireland day 0052. Fri 19 Nov 2021- Treats
Ireland day 0051. Thu 18 Nov 2021- Testdrive
Ireland day 0050. Wed 17 Nov 2021- Booster
Ireland day 0049. Tuesday 16 Nov 2021- Cars?
Ireland day 0048. Mon 15 Nov 2021- Airport
Ireland day 0047. Sun 14 Nov 2021- Castleknock
Ireland day 0046. Sat 13 Nov 2021- Glenbarrow
Ireland day 0045. Fri 12 Nov 2021- Buses
Ireland day 0044. Thu 11 Nov 2021- Broadmeadow
Ireland day 0043. Wed 10 Nov 2021- Mysterons
Ireland day 0042. Tue 09 Nov 2021- Bike
Ireland day 0041. Mon 08 Nov 2021- Flu
Ireland day 0040. Sun 07 Nov 2021- Exeat
Ireland day 0039. Sat 06 Nov 2021- M1
Ireland day 0038. Fri 05 Nov 2021- Benighted
Ireland day 0037. Thu 04 Nov 2021- Bond
Ireland day 0036. Wed 03 Nov 2021- Lithostrotion
Ireland day 0035. Tue 02 Nov 2021- Education
Ireland day 0034. Mon 01 Nov 2021- Mugsgame
Ireland day 0033. Sun 31 Oct 2021- Samhain
Ireland day 0032. Sat 30 Oct 2021- Snowdon
Ireland day 0031. Fri 29 Oct 2021- Rubbish
Ireland day 0030. Thu 28 Oct 2021- Consolidation
Ireland day 0029. Wed 27 Oct 2021- Moved!
Ireland day 0028. Tue 26 Oct 2021- Spaghetti
Ireland day 0027. Mon 25 Oct 2021- Gap
Ireland day 0026. Sun 24 Oct 2021- Howth
Ireland day 0025. Sat 23 Oct 2021- Beaulieu
Ireland day 0024. Fri 22 Oct 2021- Keys!
Ireland day 0023. Thu 21 Oct 2021- Fishy
Ireland day 0022. Wed 20 Oct 2021- Donabate
Ireland day 0021. Tue 19 Oct 2021- Termonfeckin
Ireland day 0020. Mon 18 Oct 2021- Slane
Ireland day 0019. Sun 17 Oct 2021- Fáilte
Ireland day 0018. Sat 16 Oct 2021- Carlingford
Ireland day 0017. Fri 15 Oct 2021- History
Ireland day 0016. Thu 14 Oct 2021- Ramparts
Ireland day 0015. Wed 13 Oct 2021- Fourknocks
Ireland day 0014. Tue 12 Oct 2021- Gormanston
Ireland day 0013. Mon 11 Oct 2021- Laurence
Ireland day 0012. Sun 10 Oct 2021- Loughcrew
Ireland day 0011. Sat 09 Oct 2021- Laytown
Ireland day 0010. Fri 08 Oct  2021- Flathunting
Ireland day 0009. Thu 07 Oct 2021- Skerries
Ireland day 0008. Wed 06 Oct 2021- Busy
Ireland day 0007. Tue 05 Oct 2021- Trim
Ireland day 0006. Mon 04 Oct 2021- Phones
Ireland day 0005. Sun 03 Oct 2021- Camino
Ireland day 0004. Sat 02 Oct 2021- Drought
Ireland day 0003. Fri 01 Oct 2021- Boyne
Ireland day 0002. Thu 30 Sep 2021- Surprises
Ireland day 0001. Wed 29 Sep 2021- Arrival